Since 2014, we’ve helped dispensaries eliminate their compliance and traceability worries. Our suite of compliance products and state reporting tools is second to none in any industry.
Illinois signed the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act in 2013. The state’s first dispensaries began selling medical cannabis products to patients by the end of 2014, and the state extended its pilot program for another four years in 2016.
This shows why Illinois has such a restrictive, almost ad-hoc system in place. The program currently in effect is still a pilot program, subject to radical change whenever lawmakers deem necessary. However, the program has stabilized somewhat since its 2016 extension, and as national attitudes towards cannabis change, so too will lawmakers’ reservations.
Yes. Illinois requires dispensaries to successfully apply for a medical retailer license. This license allows organizations to sell cannabis products to registered patients who suffer from a variety of qualifying conditions.
The Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act puts four separate departments in charge of different aspects of cannabis license management:
Illinois has not accepted applications since 2014, when it required applicants to hand-deliver applications to the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation within a two-week time period. The best way for a newcomer to open a dispensary in Illinois is to acquire (subject to state regulation) an existing cannabis dispensary license holder.
Illinois has some of the most restrictive regulatory environments for new cannabis dispensaries in the country. The state requires applicants to submit to a fingerprint background check and offer full disclosures for past bankruptcies, student loan defaults, and tax returns.
Applicants must submit a full business plan that includes feasibility, operations experience, management, facility security, recordkeeping, financial disclosures, and more. The state restricts dispensaries to certain geographical districts as well.
Illinois cannabis dispensary application fees are non-refundable. Every applicant must enclose a check for $5,000 with their application, and be prepared to pay an additional $30,000 upon being approved. Additionally, applicants must demonstrate $400,000 in liquid assets and an additional $50,000 in escrow.
Yes. Illinois charges a $100,000 per year annual permit renewal fee. This applies both to dispensaries and to cultivators.
Illinois distinguishes between dispensaries and cultivators. Only dispensaries may sell cannabis products to qualifying patients. The state is not accepting applications for new dispensaries or cultivators as of 2019.
Illinois approved its medical marijuana pilot program in 2013 and created a regulatory environment by 2014. However, the state did not finish providing licenses to its approved applicants until 2016.
Probably. State lawmakers have reviewed the state’s cannabis laws almost every year, and voter pressure continues to build for a recreational, adult-use regulatory framework. Under these conditions, the state’s existing dispensaries (and out-of-state dispensaries) would likely have an advantage when new legislation passes.
Medical marijuana dispensaries in Illinois must be located more than 1,000 feet away from schools, day care centers, and areas zoned for residential use. Cultivation centers must be 2,500 feet away from schools, day care centers, and residential areas.
No. There is no state statute preventing or regulating the organization of cannabis-related events in Illinois.
No. Cannabis industry event organizers are not obliged to apply for any special permits. Venues and conference centers may refuse cannabis organizers for their own reasons, however.
Dispensaries may host or organize cannabis-related events in Illlinois without applying for special licensing.
Illlinois makes strict reporting and security requirements of its dispensaries. Additionally, dispensary employees must be certified by the state. Dispensaries should appoint an experienced compliance officer to help navigate the state’s regulatory system.
Illinois requires dispensaries to implement fully functional security alarm systems and to keep cannabis products stored in a secure, enclosed space with suitable access control solutions. Dispensaries must also implement a surveillance system and a solution for transportation security. Dispensary license applicants’ security plans account for 20% of their application’s total score.
Only under certain circumstances. Illinois state law forbids dispensary employees from packaging and labeling medical cannabis products, but it does allow cultivation center employees to perform these tasks inside dispensaries. In general, cultivation centers must package or label cannabis products – not dispensaries.
No. Illinois dispensaries are prohibited from selling food and beverages, and may not sell tobacco products either.
Yes. Illlinois does not prohibit dispensing organizations from applying as cultivation centers, or vice versa. This requires submitting two separate applications and paying the appropriate fines, but several high-profile Illinoise companies have taken this route.
Don’t risk it. llinois does not specifically prohibit dispensaries from giving away product samples, but it does require dispensaries to account for the destruction of unsold cannabis products and to report the exact weight of destroyed cannabis.
Illlinois does not require dispensaries to operate during certain hours, but it does require them to inform state authorities of their operating hours. Illinois requires dispensaries to be open for a minimum of 35 hours per week.
Yes. Dispensaries may not advertise within 1,000 feet of schools, playgrounds, child care centers, public parks, or libraries, and may not take out advertisements on public property. Dispensaries may put public-facing displays on their own property.
Licensed medical marijuana patients must be at least 18 years of age. Patients under the age of 18 can only obtain medical marijuana products if they suffer from seizures and appoint a certified caregiver for the purpose.
Illlinois dispensaries must report full seed-to-sale logistics data to state authorities. This information includes cannabis product batch numbers and authorizations for each product. This allows state authorities to track sales and supply chain movement in order to prevent cannabis products from being diverted towards the black market.