Since 2014, we’ve helped dispensaries eliminate their compliance and traceability worries. Our suite of compliance products and state reporting tools is second to none in any industry.
New Mexico signed medical marijuana into state law in April 2007. The state allows residents with qualifying medical conditions to possess and consume medical cannabis products, but it operates on strict policies when issuing cannabis dispensary licenses. Recreational cannabis remains illegal, with heavy fines for first offenses and two weeks of jail time for repeat offenders.
New Mexico has granted medical marijuana producer licenses to 81 non-profit dispensaries in the state. Each producer license allows the organization to cultivate, process, and sell up to 450 cannabis plants, although a judge overturned this limit in 2018. Unfortunately, the state has not accepted new producer applications since 2015.
Yes – with a catch. Dispensaries must apply for a producer license to sell cannabis products in New Mexico. Licensed cannabis dispensaries must be non-profit organizations, but unlicensed, for-profit companies are legally allowed to sign management agreements with these organizations.
The New Mexico Department of Health manages cannabis licenses for the state. As of February 2019, the official state website’s Licensing Requirements link is inactive, and the state does not accept new applications for licensing.
Sign a management contract with an existing dispensary license holder. Although the state has already granted what it considers to be the appropriate number of medical marijuana producer licenses, New Mexico’s non-profit system allows for new dispensaries and out-of-state organizations to operate dispensaries through management contracts with license holders.
New Mexico cannabis license holders must be non-profit organizations. Because the state is granting no more licenses, for-profit companies need to acquire management contracts with non-profit medical marijuana license holders. It is not uncommon for New Mexican license holders to be non-profits with no employees, no property, and no equipment, operating under a contract with a for-profit company that actually runs the business.
All cannabis-related management contracts and acquisitions are overseen by the New Mexico Department of Health. These contracts can be approved or denied at the sole discretion of the department secretary.
Between $40,000 and $90,000. The latest data on New Mexico’s licensing fee structure indicates a three-tiered system based on the number of plants a license holder wishes to cultivate and sell. Organizations that wish to operate at the state’s maximum capacity of 450 plants must pay $90,000.
Yes. The $40,000 to $90,000 licensing fee is annual, payable every year the license holder remains in business.
There is no recreational marijuana license in New Mexico and only one kind of medical license. The medical license establishes a non-profit organization as a producer, which includes cannabis cultivation, processing, distribution, and sales.
New Mexico isn’t issuing any new licenses at the time, but the state governor ran on a recreational legalization platform and has instructed lawmakers to look at recreational markets for 2019. It is possible that a new retail licensing application period will open in the near future.
Yes. New Mexico’s non-profit cannabis dispensary law allows unlicensed for-profit companies to own and manage medical marijuana license holders. A dispensary owner can sign a management contract with an existing license holder and obtain a retail license to sell medical cannabis in New Mexico.
New Mexico allows county and city governments to set local rules for cannabis growers and dispensaries. Municipal governments can even choose to ban cannabis entirely, although no local governments have done so since the state law went into effect. Instead, most large cities in New Mexico have taken steps to decriminalize recreational marijuana use at the local level.
Public exposure to cannabis awareness campaigns and initiatives is protected by the First Amendment, according to a February 2019 court ruling. This ruling should protect both non-profit license-holders and for-profit non-license holders from litigation for organizing cannabis events.
No. Cannabis event organizers and exhibitors do not need to apply for special licensing to hold cannabis events.
New Mexico does not provide for a special cannabis event licensing application or mechanism. Since a state judge ruled that cannabis events are covered by the First Amendment, any individual or organization should be able to hold a cannabis event.
New Mexico requires dispensaries to maintain personnel records for each employee, document all employee training materials, report sales and losses, and implement a robust seed-to-sale tracking system. Additionally, dispensaries cannot sell CBD products imported from outside the state. Dispensary operators should appoint a compliance officer and integrate systems for meeting New Mexico’s stringent reporting regulations.
New Mexico state law requires dispensaries to implement fully functional security alarm systems and to maintain 24 months’ worth of documentation on the maintenance of their systems. It requires dispensaries to produce these documents within 24 hours of a Department of Health request.
Cannabis producers may package and label their own cannabis products as long as the packaging follows New Mexico state rules. Packaging must be opaque and child-resistant while prominently displaying the product’s seed-to-sale batch code and medical data.
New Mexico state law does not mention alcohol or tobacco in its medical marijuana statutes. Although most New Mexico dispensaries sell pipes, bongs, and rolling papers, they do not generally sell tobacco or alcohol products.
Yes. New Mexico grants a single “producer” license to its non-profit cannabis industry applicants. These licenses grant the right to cultivate up to 450 plants, process them into cannabis products, distribute them to dispensaries, and sell them to patients.
New Mexico state law doesn’t address cannabis advertising, promotion, or marketing, which leaves free samples and giveaways in a legal grey area. However, New Mexico dispensaries must report sales and account for missing products, which disincentivizes free sampling.
New Mexico does not impose operating hours on its dispensaries. The state permits home delivery as well, although few dispensaries offer deliveries outside of their regular business hours.
Yes. New Mexico state law fails to address cannabis advertising, promotion, or marketing in any way. In practice, medical cannabis dispensaries build public-facing displays and advertisements to attract patients.
Licensed medical marijuana patients must be over the age of 18 and have one of the state’s qualifying medical conditions. Minors can gain access to cannabis products only through the appointment of a primary caregiver who is responsible for making the purchase on the minor’s behalf.
Seed-to-sale reporting is the ability to track individual cannabis batches through the entire logistics chain. New Mexico state law requires dispensaries to use batch numbers to track cannabis products and report sales to authorities.
https://nmhealth.org/resource/view/222/ (broken link, but I used a Google Cache of the page)